May Mental Health Month Events!

MAY EVENTS

Sun. May 1: National Mental Health & Dignity Day.   We each deserve dignity and respect.

Mon. –Thurs. May 2-4: Supportive Housing Academy. 401 S. Clinton Chicago. Call John Fallonat 312-332-6690 ext. 21john.fallon@csh.org for more info’.

Tues. May 3, 4-7 pm:  Mental Health Awareness Fair – Minds Matter!  Schaumburg Township Building 1 Illinois Boulevard Hoffman Estates Il 60169.

Wed. May. 4, 10am -11 am: Recovery Conference Planning Cmttee Meeting. All are welcome!    Chicago Read Mental Health Center, 4200 N. Oak Park Ave, Bldg K, Chicago Il 60634.       Or    Dial In: 1-888-494-4032  Passcode   3838827938#.

Thursday May 5: 15th Annual DuPage Gala. Bobak Signature Events 6440 Double Eagle Drive Woodridge Il.

Thursday May 5, 5:30 -11 pm: Spring into Recovery Gala. Pazzos’ Restaurant 311 W. Wacker Dr. Chicago.  Benefits Trilogy.

Mon. May 9, 7pm: What’s Faith Got To Do with It? Hear what Faith Communities are doing to welcome persons with mental health challenges. Journey Care (formerly Midwest Care Center), Administration Building, 2050 Claire Ct, Glenview 60025.

Tues, May 10, 8am -5pm: She Served: Illinois Joining Forces Women Veterans. Lunch and 5.5 CEUs. Camp Lincoln Conference. IMA Building Springfield Il.www.bitly.com/SheServed

Tues, May 10: Let’s Get Mental Health & Addictions On The Table.  The Kennedy Forum supplies a Host Packet; folks can schedule mealtime conversations for a more unified Chicago.

Wed. May 11, 6pm: Faces of Hope. Chicago Marriott  540 N. Michigan Ave. Chicago. Benefits Association House.

 Thurs. May 12, 8am – 3pm. Chicago Mental Health & Wellness Fair. Free. Thompson Center 100 W. Randolph St Chicago.  Register to become certified in Youth Mental Health First Aid, etc.

 Sat. May 14, 5;30 pm: NAMI DuPage Shine a Light Gala. Marriot Naperville 1801 N. Naper Blvd Naperville.

 Tues. May 17, 6 -8:30pm:  Unraveling Mental Health & the Legal System.  Mental Health Bingo starts at 6 pm followed by panel discussion! Community Center 115 N. County Farm Rd.Wheaton.  Call Patty at NAMI Dupage (630) 752-0066 for details.

Wed May 18, 11:30am -1pm: Mental Health America-Illinois Luncheon Speaker Series – Dr. Nneka Jones Tapia, Exec. Dir. Cook County Dept of Corrections. Hull House 800 S.Halsted Chicago. Register at http://bit/do/Lunch1.

 Thurs. May 19, 10 am: Mental Health Rally. Thompson Center 100 W Randolph St Chicago.

Tues May 24, 6 pm: Public Mental Health Board Meeting. McHenry County Mental Health Board 620 Dakota St. Crystal Lake. For more info’,  please call 815-455-2828.

Wed. May. 25, 10am -11 am: Recovery Conference Planning Cmttee Meeting. All are welcome!   Chicago Read Mental Health Center, 4200 N. Oak Park Ave, Bldg K, Chicago Il 60634. Or    Dial In:   1-888-494-4032   Passcode  3838827938#.

Wed May 25, 7 pm: Chicago Archdiocese on Mental Illness. Connie Rakitan speaks. Alexian Brothers Center for Mental Health 3436 N. Kennicott Rd Arlington Heights. NAMI NW (847) 899-0195.

Thurs May 26, 10-11:30 am: Exploring the Possibilities of Whole Health Wellness.”  Monthly Statewide Recovery & Empowerment Call.  Dial: 1 (866) 233-3845 no code.  1.5 CEUs.

Sun May 29, 1-4 pm: Annual NAMI Northwestern Suburbs Picnic. Palatine Hills Golf Course Picnic Shelter. Bring a side dish if you wish. Call 224-279-5707 for more information.

 

JUNE 2016 & Beyond

Sun. June 5, 9:30 am– 3:30 pm: Mental Health: Why Does It Matter? A Compassionate      Community Responds. Beth Emet Synagogue 1224 W Dempster St Evanston Il. Fee = $ 50 includes lunch; call 312-467-2552 to request scholarship. Distinguished speakers include Mark Salzer, Temple University, Thomas Dart, Cook County Sheriff, Kyra Wilson, MSW, Honest Open Proud (HOP), etc.

 Mon. June 6, 12 -1 pm: Psychological Benefits of Community Participation for Adults with  Mental Illnesses.  Chicago School of Psychology 325 N Wells St Room 407/412, Chicago. Free;    lunch included (!).  RSVP tohttp://psychological-benefits.eventbrite.com (312) 467-2364.

 Wed June 8 –Fri. June 10: CSH (Corporation for Supportive Housing) 2016 Summit. Go to www.csh.org/summit16 for registration and more info.

 Tuesday June 14, 9 -2:30 pm:  Region 1 & 2 WRAP (Wellness Recovery Action Plan) Refresher.  Must register to attend; only for certified WRAP facilitators, shadows, or supervisors of facilitators.  Elgin Mental Health Center 750 S State St. Elgin Il. Call Virginia Goldrick for Registration form.

 Sat. June 20, 1-4pm: Mental Health Caucus. First Unitarian Church 5650 S Woodlawn Ave. Chicago

 Thurs. June 23,10-11:30 am: Exploring the Possibilities of Creating Boundaries for Healthy Relationships.” Monthly Statewide Recovery & Empowerment Call. Dial: 1 (866) 233-3845  1.5 CEUs.

 Tues June 28, 8:30 am -3:30 pm: CRSS Training. Free but must pre-register.   J.R. Thompson  Center 100 W. Randolph St Chicago, lower level Auditorium.  Contact Brenda Cunningham  at (217)  782-0071 for registration form

 Tues July 26, 8:30 am -3:30 pm: CRSS Training. Free but must pre-register.   J.R. Thompson  Center 100 W. Randolph St Chicago, lower level Auditorium.  Contact Brenda Cunningham  at (217) 782-0071 for registration form

 Tues August 30, 8:30 am –3:30 pm: CRSS Training. Free but must pre-register.   J.R. Thompson  Center 100 W. Randolph St Chicago, lower level Auditorium.  Contact Brenda Cunningham  at (217)  782-0071 for registration form

 

from

Virginia Goldrick, Ph.D., C.R.S.S.
Recovery Support Specialist